American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) new councilor

Patricia F. Walker, the President of ASTMH, welcomed two new councilors: Prof. David H. Hamer from Boston University, and Dr. Jetsumon Sattabongkot Prachumsri from MVRU, Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University, in Bangkok.

Congratulations to Dr. Prachumsri for being elected as a new councilor of the ASTMH. She is the second international member who has been elected for this position. “The Society continues to welcome our international colleagues into the Council to expand our global perspective and leadership,” Dr. Walker said. “We are looking forward to the insights Dr. Prachumsri will provide in the coming year”

Dr. Prachumsri has maintained continuous ASTMH membership since 1996, when she received an ASTMH Travel Award. She has participated actively in the Annual Meeting almost every year in various activities i.e. sharing research findings, developing collaborative networks and interacting with experts and peers. Moreover, she’s steady supervise, contribute her expertise and support young researchers and students, not only from Thailand but also from other low- and middle-income countries, for attending this active and lively meeting.

As one of the council members, Dr. Prachumsri who builds her hand-on experiences by working on malaria elimination, vaccine development, multi-drug resistance, malaria transmission and biology will contribute her expertise to the ATMH society.